Aug 12: Chamber Music from Members of Glimmerglass Orchestra

The Pierstown Grange Presents:

The Annual Florence High Memorial Chamber Music Concert

Pierstown Grange, Cooperstown, NY

Florence High (1912-2002) graduated from Radcliffe College in 1934 and played cello with the Elizabeth Philharmonic, Westfield Symphony Orchestra and Florence Symphony Orchestra. She enjoyed playing cello and flute with many chamber groups; in addition, she attended the Metropolitan Opera weekly, sitting in the last row of the upper balcony at the old Met. Ms. High spent her summers on the lake at Cooperstown and was a dedicated member of the Pierstown Grange. Her daughter, Sue Drake, is an active Pierstown Grange member; this concert honors the memories of devoted music lovers and community members Florence High and Sue’s husband, Donald Drake.

  • August 12, 2019, 7:30 pm
  • Chamber Music presented by members of the Glimmerglass Festival Orchestra
  • Pierstown Grange, 137 Wedderspoon Rd, Cooperstown, NY 13326 (click here for directions)
  • Admission is free
  • This concert is in memory of Donald Drake, and will feature a performance of Puccini’s Chrysanthemums


Crisantemi (Chrysanthemums) SC 65 Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924)
Ruotao Mao, Fritz Krakowski, Faina Agranov, Michael Cleveland, Joseph Lorang, Sasha Margolis, Cecee Pantikian, Esther Sanders, Ann-Marie B. Schwartz, Ubaldo Valli – violins
Katrina Smith, Emma Baker, Christine Ims, Alexandra Van de Geijn – violas
Ruth Berry, Jacqueline Stern – violoncellos; David Irvin, Jon Pascolini double bass
Joseph Colaneri- conductor
Three Furies for Solo Tuba
Fury 2 – very clean, gently inebriated, very clean
Fury 3 – relentless
James Grant (b.1954)
Brendan Ige, tuba
Iberique Peninsular Francois Rabbath (b. 1931)
Jon Pascolini, bass
Three Duets for two Violins and Piano
Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Cecee Pantikian, Ruotao Mao, violins; Kirill Kuzmin, piano
Music for Remy Lou Harrison (1917-2003)
Nancy Dimock, oboe; Bill Manley, percussion
Mládí (Youth) (1924)
I. Allegro
II. Andante soatenuto
III. Vivace
IV. Allegro animato
Leos Janácek (1854-1928)
Yevgeny Faniuk, flute & piccolo; Eileen Whalen, oboe; Keri Ann Dibari, clarinet
Dan Wions, horn; Mark Timmerman, bassoon; Pascal Archer, bass clarinet

For more information, please click on the links below: