Mar 25: Ensemble Sonaris

Chiaroscuro: Sounds and Sights of Darkness and Light
Music from the Middle Ages, Renaissance and Baroque

Chiaroscuro:  Italian: [kjaroˈsku:ro]; chiaro (“clear” or “bright”), oscuro (“obscure” or “dark”)


Sherezade Panthaki, soprano
Wayne Hankin, historical woodwinds/composer/arranger
Michael Leopold, lute
Ruth Berry, ‘cello

March 25, 2019

  • Colgate University Chapel House
  • Sights of Chiaroscuro will be shown at 4:15 and 5:45pm
  • Sounds of Chiaroscuro will be performed beginning at 4:30pm
  • Projected images from the Colgate University Picker Art Gallery collections (Nick West, curator)
  • Admission is free
  • Approximately 75 minutes, no intermission
  • Reception following the performance


O viridissima Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179)
Le Ray au Soleil Johannes Ciaconia (c.1370-1412)
Kemp’s Jig Anon. (15thc)
My Sweetest Lesbia Thomas Campion (1567-1610)
Toccata Arpeggiata Johannes Hieronymous Kapsberger (1580-1651)
Torna, deh torna Giulio Caccini (1551-1618)
An Evening Hymn Henry Purcell (1659-1695)
Musette de choisi Francois Couperin (1668-1733)
Flammende Rose George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
Stabat Mater Giovanni Felice Sances (c. 1600-1679)
Sonata in g Giovanni Paolo Cima (c.1570-1622)
Flow My Tears John Dowland (1563-1626)
Stella Splendens Anon. (14thc.)
O frondens virga Hildegard von Bingen

Click here for the complete program description.

Ensemble Sonaris is a quartet of musicians whose partnership takes music to a realm no other ensemble has yet ventured. Each member of the ensemble is an established artist; together the four are rapidly gaining notice from communities near and far. A blend of unique backgrounds and talents with an innovative “no holds barred” approach to programming, Ensemble Sonaris is the only ensemble of its kind in the United States. Click here for more information.