Aug 9: Musicians from Glimmerglass

"Ensembles Large and Small"

Cherry Valley Star Theatre: Artworks Concert Series

  • August 9, 2015, 7:30 pm
  • Star Theatre, 44 Main St., Cherry Valley, NY
  • Admission by donation


Breakaway for Two Trumpets and Electronics
i. Carving the Stone
ii. A Single Shot; Prayers and Chants
iii. Awakening

  • Jerry Bryant and Don Batchelder, trumpets
  • With thanks to Joel Morain and Nicole Wilke for their invaluable technical assistance
David Sampson (b.1951)
"Bei Männern welche Liebe fühlen"
Aus der Opfer Die Zauberflöte von Mozart
für Pianoforte und Violoncell WoO#46

  • Jon Pascolini, double bass
  • Zalman Kelber, piano
Ludwig Van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Duetto No. 2
I. Largo-Allegro Moderato
II. Rondo

  • Heather Wittels, violin
  • Mark Timmerman, bassoon
Niccolo Paganini (1782-1840)
1. Ritornello (0): Introduction Ironic, like a French Café
2. Solo (0): Fantasy
3. Ritornello I: … meanwhile at Café Ironique…
4. Solo I: Splat!
5. Ritornello II: an interruption at the café
6. Solo II: Whimsy, the whimsical smurf!
7. Ritornello III: … the morning after
8. Solo III: Finale

  • Sasha Margolis and Jennifer Reuning Myers, violins
  • Alexandra Van de Geijn and Katrina Smith, violas
  • Daniel Miller and Benjamin Whittenburg, violoncellos
Justine F. Chen (b.1975)
Duos for Flutes, op. 34
I. Allegro risoluto
II. Moderato
III. Andante sostenuto
IV. Allegro ma non troppo
V. Andante molto
VI. Allegro

  • Linda Greene and Kaoru Hinata, flutes
Robert Muczynski
(1929 – 2010)
Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings Op. 31
I. Pastoral (Charles Cotton)
II. Nocturne (Alfred, Lord Tennyson)
III. Elegy (William Blake)
IV. Dirge (Anon, 15th century)
V. Hymn (Ben Jonson)
VI.Sonnet (John Keats)

  • Jonas Hacker, tenor
  • Aaron Brask, horn
  • Ruotao Mao*, Sasha Margolis*, Faina Agranov, Taras Bohach, Elizabeth Silver and Raymond Zoeckler, violins
  • Katrina Smith*, Megan Newman Dyer and Alexandra Van de Geijn, violas
  • Ruth Berry*, Daniel Miller and Janet Nepkie, violoncellos
  • Jon Pascolini* and Richard Sosinsky, double bass
  • Ubaldo Valli, conductor
Benjamin Britten

For more information, please click on the links below:

Fenimore String Quartet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *