St. Paul’s Tuesday’s Music Live

Presents The Continuo Collective of the South

The Continuo Collective of the South

With Angela Massey, Flute; Pawel Kozak, Violin; Ruth Berry, ‘Cello; Ken Courtney, Harpsichord

Tuesday, February 18, 2014, 12:00 noon

  • Free Admission to the concert
  • Catered lunch at 12:30 pm is $10 and requires advance reservations or by calling (706) 722-3463
  • St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, 605 Reynolds St., Augusta, GA
  • Please click here for more information about The Continuo Collective of the South.

Program: J.S. Bach and Son

Works of J. S. Bach and his ninth son, Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach
Partita in A minor for Solo Flute, BWV 1013
I. Allemande
Johann Sebastian Bach
Sonata No. 4 for Violin in C Minor, BWV 1017
I. Siciliano (Largo)
Johann Sebastian Bach
Trio Sonata BWV 1039
Movt. III Adagio e piano
Movt. IV Presto
Johann Sebastian Bach
Trio Sonata in C Major
Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach
Johann Sebastian Bach
J. S. Bach, 1685-1750
Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach
J. C. F. Bach, 1732-1795

Johann Christoph Friedrich Bach (21 June 1732 – 26 January 1795), was the ninth son of Johann Sebastian Bach.

The 1911 Encyclopædia Britannica says of him "He was an industrious composer, … whose work reflects no discredit on the family name." He was an outstanding virtuoso of the keyboard.

A significant portion of J. C. F. Bach’s output was lost in the WWII destruction of the Staatliches Institut für Musikforschung in Berlin, where the scores had been on deposit since 1917.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *